Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing WAV results in incorrect timecode and "media start" offset

New Here ,
Jan 17, 2020 Jan 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a developer for a company that built an Adobe extension for audio files. We have noticed a problem recently when we attempt to import WAV files into Premiere Pro. 

When we import a WAV file, the metadata for "Media Start" is incorrectly set. The audio file should simply start at 0:00:00, but there is an offset, in this case of 12 seconds as you can see from the photo:

Media Start set to 12 seconds on import of WAVMedia Start set to 12 seconds on import of WAV

The audiofile plays just fine, there is no 12 second delay, but the incorrect metadata is causing problems when we try and swap between MP3 and WAV versions (which our extension does frequently).

When importing the same song that has been converted to MP3, there is no incorrect offset as you can see here:

MP3 version with NO offsetMP3 version with NO offset

Here is the problem: when our extension swaps the MP3 version for the lossless WAV (essentially using the "replace footage" functionality), the metadata offset messes things up as you can see here:

Danger Lines from Media Start Time differentialDanger Lines from Media Start Time differential

So my question is: why would Premiere set "Media Start" to 12 seconds instead of 0:00:00 for the WAV file?

We have tried other WAVs from our library and there continues to be a weird offset, thought the actual size of the offset varies. These are simple WAV bounces from Pro Tools, so I cannot imagine we are editing the metadata in any way.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

TOPICS
Audio , Error or problem , Import

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer