• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Mark Split in source window doesn't perform correctly

New Here ,
Apr 04, 2017 Apr 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to use the Marker: Mark Split: Video In (or Audio In) function, with unsatisfactory results, as follows: 

In the source monitor, I set in-points for leading audio, then for trailing video.  (Performance is the same for leading video, trailing audio in-points.)   When edited into the timeline, the audio edit happens in the correct position on the audio track. But at the same point on the video track, the  video from the original clip is overwritten by black, until new video starts downstream at the new video in-point.  The editor must then pull the original clip's video forward, to reach the in-point for the new video, turning a one-step process into two, essentially negating any reason for the feature's existence.

I am a relatively new Premiere Pro CC user coming from FCP7, where I used this feature frequently with expected results, meaning that asynchronous audio and video cuts are made at their respective in-points set with the Mark Split command, in a single edit. Thinking this issue could be due to my failure to use or set a related option correctly (i.e. using overwrite vs. insert or some other choice, or failing to unlink, or using a subclip for my source, or some other obscure nuance - none of which proved to the be the case), I called Adobe and eventually reached a support tech who shared my screen, and then replicated the above behavior on his local system. He then said this was the expected behavior for the feature, which is inconceivable to me!