• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help with HDR video editing on a Windows 10 computer with Iphone 12 Pro material

New Here ,
Jan 16, 2023 Jan 16, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys,

I got my very first Apple phone (an Iphone 12 Pro Max) and I’m trying to find a way to edit the HDR video material from my i-phone in Premiere Pro.

First of all, if I save my Iphone video files to my computer I have got two options: 

1. Saving the HEVC file (HLG color space), which is HDR
  2. Saving the H264 (709 color space), which I get when I download the video file from I-cloud. This file shows the correct colors but has got no HDR.

Now I’m completely new to the “Apple world” (I don’t own anything from Apple, just that I-Phone now) and I have the problem that the video file (HEVC, HLG) shows extremely wrong and washed out colors in my premiere editing monitor. At first I thought it was just the fact that I don’t own a pc monitor screen that can show HDR but when I uploaded the film on youtube and watched that youtube video with my Iphone (that can show HDR), the colors were just as wrong as on my windows computer. I googled the problem on the apple websites and apple says that you have to download the youtube app and you can only upload the HDR videofile from your mobile to the youtube app. Allegedly only this way, HDR would work on youtube. Is that really true? Is there no way at all, to be able to edit HDR videos on a windows computer with Premiere Pro, then do my own color grading and then upload the file the classic way on Youtube or any other platforms? And will you never be able to see the full HDR if you don’t have a HDR computer screen? Because if that’s the case, I’d rather use the H264 (709) file for my editing so that I at least have the right colors (and I pass on HDR).