Exit

To transcode, or not to transcode....

Community Beginner ,
Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a newbie who needs help.

We shoot with a Canon C100 (AVCHD .MTS files). Until now we would outsource the edit to others. Now we're trying to learn that ourselves.

What we (think we) know: AVCHD files are hard on the system and suck in the color-grading phase.

We've discovered that transcoding .MTS from H.264 to ProRes HQ .MOV increases files literally tenfold. So this is not an option. For the purposes of editing and color-grading (not the final output), does it matter which of the following options we pick, and why?

Option 1: Just rewrap .MTS into .MOV (while keeping H.264) and edit these files;

OR

Option 2: Transcode to ProRes 422 HD;

OR

Option 3: Transcode to ProRes 422 LT.

The goal is to maintain the quality. But, as someone told us today, simply converting your H.264 file into a ProRes HD won't make your file any better. Your camera captured the best it could.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The goal is to maintain the quality. But, as someone told us today, simply converting your H.264 file into a ProRes HD won't make your file any better. Your camera captured the best it could.

This person is correct. No point in converting you wont gain quality.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Conversion won't increase the quality of the original, and depending on your settings, it could even reduce quality.