Design the future of fashion, win Firefly Pro 👗✨
Join a global community of InDesign users.
Recently active
I'm running Sequoia 15.3.1 and installed Indesign 2025 a few weeks ago. It is not opening files. The computer right next to me is able to open them and is using the same OS but is beefed up with an M1 chip. The files are on the cloud. All font are available. Our tech said my computer is fine. I could possibly open them in Indesign 2024 but don't really want to change the files too much. I have read a few people are struggling with 2025. Any ideas or is it a wait and see.
Hi, I have a plugin developed for InDesign (C++). I have noted a strange behaviour in scripting, when the plugin is placed. When accessed from the script, it returns RIGHT for the return value of Justification.RIGHT_ALIGN where it should be RIGHT_ALIGN. This happens only in InDesign 2025. When I compile the same pluing (same c++ code) for InDesign 2023 or InDesign 2024 and try to access it, it returns the correct value. Does someone has an idea what could be going wrong in my c++ code? Just the precense of the C++ plugin modifies the return value.
Hi I'm trying to find book cover templates - with front & back covers & spine. Not dust jacket. I've looked in Adobe Stock which I subscribe to, searched a lot online and looked at printers' free templates. But I can find almost nothing. Are there a few websites you would recommend with free templates?
Hi everyone, I was playing around on some text in my document and while I thought the text i was messing around with wasnt effecting my document but it did! I tried to go back and fix it but i dont know how to and it is killing me. Can someone please help, I will insert a picture of what it should look like and what it currently is looking like.
Hi, I am trying to run a script that resets image fitting. I am having issues with the cropping. I don't understand the hirarchy of the geormetricbounds vs cropping vs fitting of an image in a rectangle. I want to be able to swap image within a rectangle in a clean predicatble way witout crop values of the original image in the rectangle. I want to reset the crop to be 0 on all 4 sides like i can in the interface. set the image rectangle to be fill proportionally, autofit and be able to set an align from. When I run my script I get back and image with a crop factor on it instead of crop being [0,0,0,0] Here is a code snippet from what I have so far: targetObject.frameFittingOptions.autoFit = frameFittingOptions.autoFit;// fittingtargetObject.frameFittingOptions.fittingOnEmptyFrame = convertFromString(frameFittingOptionsFittingDefinition, frameFittingOptions.fitting);// alignmenttargetObject.frameFittingOptions.fittingAlignment = convertFromString(frameFittingO
I use keystroke commands a lot to navigate around. Every now and then I press something by accident in InDesign and have no clue as to how to get out of it. This time, advancing through a long doc a page at a time by keystrokes suddenly stopped working as the result of a faulty keystroke command on my part. (Ctrl-PgDown) I can click on the scroll bar at the right, and the mouse will scroll, too, but both are clunky and slow. I wondered if I'd depressed the NumLock key by accident, but whether it's locked or unlocked, the pages won't advance page by page with a keystroke command. I also looked in Edit\Preferences, but there are so many sub-menus to look at that I gave up trying to find something. So I ran a couple tests: I opened a different InDesign doc to see if the lack of scrolling is specific to the document I was working on, or to all of them. All docs are affected. As I had a .pdf open, I used the number keys to scroll page by
Hello! Maybe someone knows, I linked a table in indesign. With exelfailom, when I make changes in excel, everything is ok in the table, the info changes, but I lose the table style, I need to format it again, maybe someone knows how not to lose this style when changing the file in excel?
Hi everyone,I'm trying to automate the "Print Booklet" feature in InDesign, specifically using the Saddle Stitch (2-up) option. My goal is to:1️⃣ Split a document into multiple PDFs, each containing 20 pages.2️⃣ Ensure that each PDF is imposed correctly for saddle stitch binding.3️⃣ Automate the process using JavaScript (ExtendScript) so I don’t have to manually use "Print Booklet" for each section.I have successfully created a script that exports the document in chunks of 20 pages, but I can't find a way to apply Print Booklet (Saddle Stitch) through scripting.🔹 Problem:InDesign doesn’t seem to expose "Print Booklet" to ExtendScript.Trying to use doc.printBooklet(PrintPreset.PDF, exportPDF); gives an error.Manually opening "Print Booklet" works, but I need automation.Has anyone managed to automate Print Booklet in InDesign?Thanks in advance! 🚀
I found a file with a color named Pantone 5-5 CVS. What does CVS stand for?
Hi everyone, I've been meaning to discuss this odd behavior that I started noticing in 2024 version, and still a problem in 2025: Randomly, a press of keyboard shortcuts keys will fail to trigger the command. If I go to Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts, then click OK, the keyboard shortcuts will wake up and start functioning. The next InDesign document I open, however, and the keyboard shortcuts stop functioning again. I tried making a differently-named custom keyboard shortcuts, but it makes no difference to this odd behavior. Anyone else experience this?
Has anyone had any luck getting any page transitions to work from InDesign to interactive PDF? The feature used to work great but then a program update killed it. I have been trying for years to find a solution, but still nothing. Tech support has run the usual routine of resetting preferences and trying a new doc, but the same result...nothing. Is there a solution out there?Setting transitions in InDesign does not work and setting them in Acrobat does not work.
Hi, friends! I am creating a reflowable epub to be uploaded to Kindle, and the book contains photos in between paragraphs, meant to be anchored & flow with the text. I have inserted the images via: File > Place (within the text box) > Text Wrap > Bounce Object > [Anchor] > Object > Anchored Object > Options > Position > Inline or Above LineEverything looks correct in my indd file, but when I export to epub & view in Kindle Previewer, I get a camera icon with an exclamation point where the image should be. (Screenshot attached)Can anyone advise where I'm going wrong/outline a successful process?Thank you in advance!
I downloaded the lastest Indesign (20.0) and work on a mabcook with sonoma 14.6 My design layout turns grey all the time, the designpages dissapear and the only thing I can see is a total grey screen/canvas. All other indesign features are there, the only thing that seems to work is quitting and restarting.. and then working until it suddelny turns light grey again VERY VERY FRUSTRATING I have not experienced this before with other version in Indesign Is there a solution? Thanks <Title renamed by MOD>
Comrades, help me out. There is some nonsense with the display of illustrations in the layout. On the screenshot you can see the essence of the problem: the whole file is laddered. But in photoshop or illustrator it is displayed without any problems. And it concerns not only this file, but also other large color images for book covers. Including other series. Remarkably, smaller images have no problems.It happened in recent months. And affected even previously completed projects that previously had no problems. (screenshot 3)Tried to roll back to version 19. Didn't help.Installing the software on another computer did not solve the problem either, everything is exactly the same there.Maybe someone has encountered similar problems and knows the solution?
How do I create a merged document magazine-style, facing pages… and Data Merge? I've done dozens of tests, and it's always duplicating the parents, instead of alternating them 😞
Title says it all.It used to show a progress window before, but now the app just "freezes" until the PDF is fully exported.
Hi!Is there a way to send my InDesign file to someone to work on, and when they send it back, I can continue working on it without all of my images being unlinked?Thank you!
Hi all. Surely someone has an answer?? I am always scrolling vertically through multi-page documents using my Mac trackpad. But I only have to touch my trackpad wrongly for the pages to slide off to the edge left or right. Working in Word or equivalent, pages just scroll neatly vertically Same when working on a page, I can have the page happily centred on the screen and working and then oops it shoots across the screen and I have to recentre. a. Can I lock a page in place centred on the screen so it does not move?b. Can I lock all the pages centred so that they will only scroll vertically Thanks & Cheers Robert
Hi, in the Adobe Indesign business card template screenshot attached. Please how did they make the shiny effect on the text? It’s awesome. Also, I am trying to edit the colour of the text and background in this template inside InDesign. But it won’t make the changes that I’m making and okaying; that have worked fine for me in all other documents today and previously. Screenshots below. First is what the original template looks like then my next steps and what shows on screen..
Hi, I recently completed a book that I now need to send to the printer. This is my first book I have worked on and I wanted to ask what I should look out for when submitting it. I’ve read through their documentation, but I was wondering if there’s anything else that might be obvious to someone experienced but not to me. I know this is a broad question, but maybe there are standard or things from own experience. Thank you very much!
How do I make a scallop frame edge so I can drop in an image and it have a scalloped edge. Like the attached but the blue would be the image.
I can't find the answer to this anywhere. I have a graphic in my indesign document. I applied a hyperlink to it. Now I want to remove the hyperlink without removing the graphic. How can I do that? The only thing I can find on removing hyperlinks is from 2011 and it's a script.
I am getting the following error when trying to validate a reflowable epub that I exported from InDesign: ERROR(RSC-012): epub/OEBPS/toc.xhtml(63,94): Fragment identifier is not defined. Nothing I try is getting rid of the error. I've tried rebuilding the TOC in multiple ways. But it is not fixing the issue.
Hey everyone, I'm really struggling here. Working on a document in indesign, in which i've imported jpegs (created in photoshop). Everything was going well, then I modified and saved a new Jpeg. Updated the link in InDesign, and now the pdf exports are pink. (primarily in the white areas of the black and white images). I know that this often has to do with color profiles, but I cant seem to find the problem. Using InDesign 2025Photoshop file is in CMYK mode. InDesign document is in Print mode. Transparency Blend space set to CMYK (though also tried RGB) I've tried exporting to pdf using all the preset options. I've tried modifying output settings to "no color conversion" as well as "convert to destination" Any suggestions?(PDF attached. The original images have a pure grayscale background, no warmth or pink)
Remix with Firefly Community Gallery
Thousands of free creations to fall in love with and remix in Firefly.
Already have an account? Login
Enter your E-mail address. We'll send you an e-mail with instructions to reset your password.