• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Beginner to Adobe Flash CS6

New Here ,
Apr 27, 2019 Apr 27, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Just started learning Adobe Flash CS6. There's tutorial I found which teaches variables. In his example, he uses this setup (which he gave for free download):

flash.png

Bottom textbox has instance name "outputText".

He sets up some actionscript in the "actions" layer:

var thisVariable:int=5;

outputText.text=String(thisVariable);

When I do test, "5" correctly shows as in his tutorial.

flash 2.png

BUT. If I do the same thing in a new ActionScript 3.0 file, I do not get any output in the bottom textbox. The only time I see something is when there are the same characters in the actionscript as in the top textbox.

Example:

bottom textbox has instance name "myText"

flash 3.1.png

Adding number "1" in the top textbox.

flash 3.2.png

Using string instead of int

flash 3.3.png

I am still very new to this. Very confused by this. Here is the original link to the tutorial. Its free on Udemy:

https://www.udemy.com/learn-adobe-flash-from-scratch/learn/lecture/2782054#overview

TOPICS
ActionScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 27, 2019 Apr 27, 2019

you you need to embed your bottom textfield's font.

ie, there's no problem with your code.  the problem is the only characters displayed in your bottom textfield and those that are embedded (T,h,i,s,v,a,r,i,a,b,l,e,c,o,n,t,a,i,n,s,:).

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

you you need to embed your bottom textfield's font.

ie, there's no problem with your code.  the problem is the only characters displayed in your bottom textfield and those that are embedded (T,h,i,s,v,a,r,i,a,b,l,e,c,o,n,t,a,i,n,s,:).