• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Automatic Chapter Numbering with master page

Explorer ,
Aug 10, 2024 Aug 10, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there a way to make my chapter numbers automatic when I apply the master page? For the chapter start page I have a separate master page and my Chapter number text box also inside that master page. Tried everything. But its not working. Someone please help.

Screenshot_1.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 10, 2024 Aug 10, 2024

I don't believe it can be done, at least not with any simple combination of ID features. Parent pages are a peculiar mix of being tightly bound to their document pages AND completely disconnected entities, at the same time. Users would like many features and aspects such as having a Parent page follow a selected paragraph style, but their placement in the page array is fixed, not flexible. It can carry a page numbering marker, but autonumbering will not update — which you've probably already fou

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't believe it can be done, at least not with any simple combination of ID features. Parent pages are a peculiar mix of being tightly bound to their document pages AND completely disconnected entities, at the same time. Users would like many features and aspects such as having a Parent page follow a selected paragraph style, but their placement in the page array is fixed, not flexible. It can carry a page numbering marker, but autonumbering will not update — which you've probably already found.