Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Ability for Layer Comps to remember/work with specific Artboards

Community Beginner ,
Jun 16, 2017 Jun 16, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a UI Designer and I'm trying to create a website using artboards as different pages on the site and for certain pages, I need to show different states. I'm trying to use Layer Comp for each state of the page but without it affecting the other artboards. I know I can just duplicate an artboard and show the new state in the new artboard but that would then increase the file size for no good reason.

Is there a way to use artboards and layer comps to affect only one artboard at a time?

Idea No status
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
4 Comments
New Here ,
Oct 07, 2021 Oct 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Adobe, please improve Artboards and Layer Comps to be better integrated. Layer Comps have layer members regardless of which layer groups they are in, and Artboards are basically Canvases, but they are implemented as exclusive layer groups, which is unnecessary. Artboards could be integrated and merged with Layer Comps, by adding the ability of a Layer Comp to remember an artboard (canvas), as well as layer visibility, position, and blending. This would also allow certain important layers to be shared amongst Artboards, instead of requiring them to be duplicated, saving file size, and also allowing any edits to the shared layer to instantly update all Artboards and Layer Comps, instead of repeating the edits or duplicating the layers again.