Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pancake editing - Copying a clip to same timecode between sequences

New Here ,
Oct 22, 2022 Oct 22, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

im just beginning with pancake editing. I wanted to know if there's a simple way to drag and drop a clip from one sequence to another while ensuring it copies to the new sequence, in the same timecode position as the original sequence. 

thanks a ton. 

Clinton. 

TOPICS
Editing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 22, 2022 Oct 22, 2022

There is not one specifically for that - although it would be nice at times - but what you can do is type the timecode you want the clip to jump to while it's selected and it will jump to that. (This would also be kind of an alternative to your copy and paste situation, though it's still not the automated method you were hoping for.)

Timecode commands must be typed with the Numpad to use them automatically, otherwise you'd have to select the timecode box to type into that. Examples of things y

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Um ... I can't think of how to do that automated.

And I'm puzzled about the use. When I pancake, it's 'cause I'm grabbing bits of a long cut or sequence to quckly add to another one ... and there's no commonality between the sequences. So why would I want the clip from A at the same timeline timecode when dropped on B?

Neil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for your reply Neil. 

so what I want to use this for is.