• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ProRes RAW files in Premiere Pro 23.0 are black in source, program monitor, and export

Community Beginner ,
Nov 20, 2022 Nov 20, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Looking for some help with this issue. I've been working with R3D or ProRes HQ prior to this and it's my first time with ProRes RAW from the Ninja V+ so I'm unable confirm if it was working on previous versions.

ProRes RAW files in Premiere Pro 2023 are displaying a black preview (source file and program monitor) - audio is playing fine. This issue is limited to ProRes RAW files only - I have verified numerous other projects using R3D and ProRes HQ are not encountering the same issue.

Preview/program monitor shows image when using Mercury Playback Engine Software Only or OpenCL - both with extremely hindered performance.

Using Mercury Playback Engine (CUDA) in Media Encoder results in files with black screen & audio, as above Software Only or OpenCL successfully export however extremely slowly (~45mins for a 2:05 project file. Single layer 5.9K source media, one technical LUT (CLog2 > Rec.709) 4K UHD export @ 30mbps CBR. I would usually expect this to take less than a couple of minutes.)

Attempted to create 720p ProRes proxies with media encoder - same issue, black image with audio playing.

Files play back with no issue on the Ninja V+

Specs/media:

• i9-10980HK

• RTX 3070 Laptop GPU

• 32gb RAM

• Premiere Pro 2023 (23.0)

• Mercury Playback Engine (CUDA)

• ProRes RAW 5.9K/24 from R5C in Super35 mode & Ninja V+

• ProRes RAW for windows 1.3 installed

• Latest Nvidia Studio Driver version 526.98 (tried switching between Studio and Game Ready as a hail mary to no avail)