• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What's the point of the source window?

New Here ,
Oct 07, 2019 Oct 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Genuine question, without any appended attitude: What's the point of the source panel in Premiere Pro?  I'm a noob, and in the few projects I've done, I just dragged the raw footage into the timeline and did any required trimming there (or perhaps av delink and discard) - gives the same result it seems to me.

I suspect I must be missing some concept because why would Adobe have added that feature otherwise?

Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I kinda work mostly like you where you put all the stuff into timeline but that's mostly dependent now on how 'serious' I am about the project. And I like doing my own manual (stacked video) cross dissolves, and don't want 'handles'.

But basically the source thing lets you browse through the media files in your media pool to just review them. It also ( this is a big thing now that most people do ) allows you to make IN and OUT selection ( the exact frame range you want to "use" on the timeline) and drag only that portion to your timeline.

I use it now a lot more than I used to.

For one thing, you can make cuts and delete unwanted 'handles' of the clip once it's on the timeline, as you fine tune the edit.

You can do all the same stuff doing it the way you are, and you might like using the source monitor to speed things up a little.

beware... you need the screen size to really see both source and program monitors. My laptop is worthless for editing and that's one of the reasons. Screen too small. 

hope that helps explain ?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines