• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Maximizing when I edit footage...should I shoot all 2k, 1080, or 4k is okay...using multiple devices.

Community Beginner ,
Feb 06, 2018 Feb 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm heading out to vacation and before I start recoding. I was curious if anyone had any suggestions on the best settings. I would like to record on my GoPro and my Mavic Pro drone. Last time I didn't have the same setting the when I tried to edit it came me some problems.

To be on the safe side should I record in 2k? Also what clip should I start with in my project with I start the project. I know that determines if the sequence will be 2k or 4k or whatever I drop.

Sorry I'm new to premiere and what to make life easy when I start the import process.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

it is okay to use multiple device. You can shoot with your GoPro, Mavic, Phones, cameras, and blend everything togather in the perfect vacation film.

If it's for personnal/family use, I would recommand a final resolution of 1080p. With that in mind, here are some recommandations:

For your drone, I would shoot in 2k / 2.7k, this will give you a bit of extra room is you need to stabilize the footage, or just reframe a bit. The files will be bigger, but since it's not a huge resolution boost, it shouldn't be too big.

For your GoPro, if you're shooting close to your subject, I would, the same shoot in 2k / 2.7k. Depending on your gopro model, you will have (or not) a bit of stabilization, but if you don't have a gimbal (like the Karma grip), shooting in 2.7k will give you extra room for stabilization.