• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Name of LUT or how do I get this color?

Contributor ,
Jan 09, 2020 Jan 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm in love with the first video (the color or LUT it has, I don't know, I'm a rookie). Does anyone know what LUT has or how that beautiful color is achieved?

I leave here two videos, the first is the one I like its color and the second is a RAW video of an A7s 2. How do I get the color of the first video in the second video?

Video 1https://drive.google.com/open?id=1DA3y5qiki83TQdGIAP9sVStnbq3ox6AH
Video 2https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Acv5XTFYaEoFdw3iClmc3dG6CDa2DyTw

TOPICS
Error or problem

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Jan 09, 2020 Jan 09, 2020

First thing ... LUTs aren't magic. Colorists call them "the dumbest math out there". They are very useful for certain things, true. But ... unless you know exactly what you're doing with them, you can do as much damage as good.

That first clip ... the non-skin colors, especially blues and greens, are way desaturated. Shadows can be dark but don't look crushed, whites look to be slightly down though highlights can be high, and to compensate they raised the contrast gradient of the midtones. In

Votes

Translate

Translate
Contributor , Jan 10, 2020 Jan 10, 2020

I would recommend the book 'Color Correction Handbook' by Alexis van Hurkman for information on using color grading tools.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Jan 09, 2020 Jan 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First thing ... LUTs aren't magic. Colorists call them "the dumbest math out there". They are very useful for certain things, true. But ... unless you know exactly what you're doing with them, you can do as much damage as good.