• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Newby question: how to I create clips from footage?

Community Beginner ,
Jun 20, 2018 Jun 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to Adobe Premiere and just learning how it works.

I have about 4.5hrs of footage from 25 years ago that I'd like to edit into some kind of documentary.

It looks like the best way to go would be to watch it through, make note and categorise sections and then create clips that go into categorised bins.

Is that a good way to go? How do I take one long piece of video and create clips from it?

All of the tutorials that I've watched seem to start off with having a ton of clips in the first place.

Thanks,

Darren

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Jun 21, 2018 Jun 21, 2018

Subclip Workflows in Adobe Premiere Pro - YouTube

Please mark as right answer, if this answers your question

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jun 21, 2018 Jun 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are new to video editing Premiere Pro is not a smart choice to begin with: very steep learning curve.

Premiere Elements might be a better choice.

Elements has more automated features as in Premiere Pro everything is done manually.

Clips are made with in and out points set (one clip at a time) in the Source Monitor and the inserted into the timeline.

Might want to get yourself a subscription at www.lynda.com

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied