Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Timecode Workflow - Pr&Au

Explorer ,
Jun 11, 2019 Jun 11, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have a beginner question for everyone.  Is it possible to take your post data, import the footage w/camera audio into Pr, do all of your editing/colour grading etc.  Separately mix your Audio in Au, then sync that all together in Pr with the embedded timecode?

Obviously you'd need footage in Au, so perhaps you can sync in Au from timecode and either replace the camera audio, or keep separate stints?

I'm basically trying to design a workflow, is there a point to importing ALL of your audio/stems/music etc into Premiere IF your just going to mix/master in Au?  Is there a benefit to using the Dynamic Link or should you just keep this separate, export your 3.1/5.1 and import to Pr.

(Using timecode and external audio is new to me but I'm not really a beginner to Adobe)

Thank you for your time.

P.S.  I build my sequences as 5.1, I default with three adaptive audio tracks; is there a better way to do this?  Should I specify mono tracks?  Should I have a 5.1 track for my final audio?

P.P.S.  I also noticed an anomaly, recording in my new setup I had four (4) audio tracks with my footage (Panasonic AG-DVX200 & AtomOS Shogun Inferno), the first two tracks were blank but the other two (3&4) audio tracks had my recorded audio.  With playback the audio was showing on the levels mixer as tracks 3 and 4 as you'd expect (I only had 4 audio tracks in the levels not the 6 for a 5.1 sequence?!).  When I selected a sequence with just two audio tracks, imported the same footage and got my two audio tracks (no blank tracks like before).  When I played that back only the first track in the level mixer; regardless of which track was playing, including if they were both playing (still just 4 audio level indicators).

I'm open to recommendations/suggestions, thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines