Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Mixing Frame Rates and exporting a DCP

New Here ,
Jul 18, 2017 Jul 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm an editor, and I've been handed a project that was shot over the course of 10 years. The initial footage was shot at 29.97 (the director had thought it was 23.976) and so the new footage was all shot at 23.976. I've edited a timeline in 23.976 using both media sources, but now we are getting to the point where we need to start thinking about an output for festival release and we will need to create a DCP. This is my first time doing a DCP project, and I'm curious what issues I might run into with the 2 frame rates.

Since the sequence is in 23.976 and we are creating a 24fps DCP, will there be issues with the output since there is 29.97 footage?

Do I need to convert all the 29.97 fps footage to 23.976 or vice versa?

Any help would be great, since this is a giant headache that is beyond my control. Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

shooternz​ ? You got any suggestions?

Neil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've converted videos at different frame rates without any significant impact to the playback or quality. My guess is that if you output 23.976 fps to 24 fps, it is unlikely that you (or broader audience) would notice any issues.