Welcome Dialog

Welcome to the Community!

We have a brand new look! Take a tour with us and explore the latest updates on Adobe Support Community.

Beginners After Effects Workflow questions

Community Beginner ,
Apr 02, 2021 Apr 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just started playing around with After effects and I absolutely love it. I go to bed at 3am and wake up 6am to continue doing stuff.

However this is what I would like to know.

I have a premiere movie so what are the best/common practise for exporting my after effects to my premiere movie? I have tried to link media and it works but my computer is not the best so many times the render crash out due to various unknown reasons.

Would it be just as fine to export the after effects as small video clips and then just import the clips into my Premiere project? Or would that be too destructive of quality? Is this what ppl do?

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As long as you don't need to make text edits to the AE file in Premiere Pro, nothing wrong with rending the AE comp first and placing in PPro. 

If you are using transparency, be sure to use a format that supports it. I use AVI with RGB+Alpha, but there are other formats too. 

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Rendering digital intermediates (DI's) using a Mezzanine format or codec (I'm using industry-standard terms here) is a common practice and if you are at all serious about quality, you should follow that workflow.