Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Extendscript & After Effects with .bat

New Here ,
Aug 26, 2024 Aug 26, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Folks,

I'm relatively new to scripting, picked little bits up here and there.

Trying to automate some tasks I carry our on a regular basis.

I have AE Projects that I'd like to automate using a .bat file to kick things off by opening AE, a particular AE Project, open ExtendScript and then run a script in ExtendScript to batch generate graphics and animations.

I've tried this ...

@ECho off
REM Path to After Effects executable
set AE_PATH="C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects 2024\Support Files\AfterFX.exe"

REM Path to the After Effects project
set PROJECT_PATH="D:\OneDrive\Gartcairn FC\Gartcairn FC Fixture Graphics.aep"

REM Path to the ExtendScript Toolkit executable
set ESTK_PATH="C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe ExtendScript Toolkit CC\ExtendScript Toolkit.exe"

REM Path to the JavaScript file
set SCRIPT_PATH="C:\GARTCAIRN Fixtures.jsx"

REM Open After Effects project
%AE_PATH% -project %PROJECT_PATH%

REM Wait for After Effects to open the project
timeout /t 10

REM Open ExtendScript Toolkit and run the script
start "" %ESTK_PATH% %SCRIPT_PATH%

and also split these into 2 (open ExtendScript, open script, run script) but things seem to stall until I close AE.

I've tried the .bat to open the script in ExtendScript and then run it, it opens fine but won't run the script.

The script works perfectly if I manually open the AE project, open the script in ExtendScript and then click the Start icon.

Any ideas what's missing?  Do I need to tweak the .bat file or totally rethink the process?

Thanks in advance

TOPICS
Expressions , Freeze or hang , How to , Import and export , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,