Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Frustrated beyond words: painting in AE

Community Beginner ,
Feb 25, 2018 Feb 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys.

I don't do any fancy effects. Very simple stuff. And yet my work is moving at a snail's pace ever since I decided to give After Effects a try. Admittedly I am new to AE but already I can see it is not very intuitive (and please don't say it's my problem not the software's problem because I am about to explain why, exactly, I think that way).

Basically, what I want to do is: paint an arrow using the brush tool. Note: I did not say ANIMATE an arrow using the brush tool. I just want to paint one. Something a three year old child can do if given a market and a paper. Something which I, a 29 year old man, cannot do in AE.

I have looked up tutorials. Most of the results end up being for animating the brush strokes (that's a laugh!). and the few results I found for simply using the brush stroke to begin with, did not work. The closest I came to using the brush tool, was when I created a null layer, moved it to where I wanted the arrow, and then opened the null layer in the layer panel and I could paint in the layer panel. But when I painted in the layer panel, I would go back to the composition and see that there is absolutely nothing.

This is something that should take a few seconds. I have spent literally hours. HOURS, trying to do the simplest GED task one can do in a graphics software.

Maybe I'm the stupidest person on the planet. Or maybe AE is monkey butt for not letting the simplest of tasks be... simple.

Again: I'm not trying to make explosions and planetary rotations here. I'm trying to paint an ugly arrow.

Note: i did try the clunky "solution" of finding an arrow PNG with a transparent background. but after I imported it into AE it just became a big black rectangle. So even my GED solution to my GED problem failed.