• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to animate: Closing/opening a laptop?

New Here ,
Apr 16, 2019 Apr 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys!

Hope you all are having a great day!

I'm new with AE (and in love with it) and I'm trying to figure out how animations like closing and/or opening a laptop, for example, are achieved (pictures below). I'm sorry if its a stupid question, again, new.

Thank you!

Skärmavbild 2019-04-16 kl. 16.56.36.pngSkärmavbild 2019-04-16 kl. 16.56.48.pngSkärmavbild 2019-04-16 kl. 16.56.55.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 16, 2019 Apr 16, 2019

If you're referring to the actual shape of the laptop, the most straightforward way would be simply keyframing the paths (this looks like a shape layer to me, or something you'd make from a shape layer). Start by making keyframes for when it's all the way open, and all the way closed, then start filling in the middle (as needed) until the move looks right. Then add the lighter gray shape and do the same.

For the screen itself, I'd take the image or precomp that makes up the screen content, and us

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you're referring to the actual shape of the laptop, the most straightforward way would be simply keyframing the paths (this looks like a shape layer to me, or something you'd make from a shape layer). Start by making keyframes for when it's all the way open, and all the way closed, then start filling in the middle (as needed) until the move looks right. Then add the lighter gray shape and do the same.