• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to merge Japanese characters into Roman letters (or the reverse) -- looking for advice

Contributor ,
Mar 09, 2021 Mar 09, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to AE and am teaching myself with the After Effects Apprentice book and video series (on LinkedIn Learning). One thing I want to (eventually) do is merge Japanese hiragana/katakana characters into Roman letters and/or vice-versa. I don't want to reinvent the wheel, so I was wondering 

1) Does anyone know of any tutorials that can teach that kind of skill or have some suggestions for keywords so I can better find something on my own? 

2) Does anyone have any font suggestions as to what would be the best fonts to work with for this purpose? I'm guessing sans serif small caps, becasue they'd be a uniform height, but I'm not sure and am hoping someone here might have an opinion...

Thank you,

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Mar 09, 2021 Mar 09, 2021

Trying to morph one font into another isn't going to be easy if you stick to After Effects. You can play with displacement maps, liquify, mesh wrap, and other tools but the fonts can be very complex, especially if you are going from Japanese Characters to Roman (Latin) characters. Asian characters don't really have serifs so I would stick with Roman fonts that had a similar look.

I would open up Illustrator, add your Japanese characters, add your Roman Characters, convert both of these layers

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Mar 10, 2021 Mar 10, 2021