Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to scroll through the timeline

New Here ,
Apr 01, 2018 Apr 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to After Effects and I can't seem to figure out how to scroll through the timeline.

I've tried multiple solutions, like the hand tool and the alt+wheel, but they all don't work.

Please help.

Thanks,

Max

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 01, 2018 Apr 01, 2018

If you are new start here: Basic AE

After Effects is NOT a real-time video editor, it is a compositing and motion graphics application designed to create shots and short sequences that you cannot create in an NLE. 

You generally grab the CTI (current time indicator) and drag it.  This is called scrubbing and it is NOT realtime and previews may be degraded until you let the frames render. Movin through the timeline does not depend on the tools. The tools are only for working in the Composition or

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Apr 01, 2018 Apr 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are new start here: Basic AE

After Effects is NOT a real-time video editor, it is a compositing and motion graphics application designed to create shots and short sequences that you cannot create in an NLE. 

You generally grab the CTI (current time indicator) and drag it.  This is called scrubbing and it is NOT realtime and previews may be degraded until you let the frames render. Movin through the timeline does not depend on the tools. The tools are only for working in the Composition or Layer panels.