Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to size shape layers based on time?

Community Beginner ,
May 11, 2019 May 11, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After effects.PNG

I'm creating a video to show which chords are playing in a song. The white vertical bar in the image represents the current position in the song. This image shows that B7 is the current chord and C will be next. The chords will scroll as the song plays.

Here is a link that shows what I'm trying to replicate:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NP0MLMXOQdc

I have markers where each chord change takes place. How do I figure out the right width for each chord shape?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Peter

I'm an AE artist and musician as well.

Lots of ways to tackle this. I would tackle it this way:

I would build the whole visual layout of my songs chords. Then parent all tos to a null which will be your horizontal control. Keyframe the position of the null so that you first chord hits the static white line on the first beat and then go to your last beat and move the hull to the left to bring the last chord into place. Then use time remapping to make sure each chord hits the line when your marker says it should.

Hope that helps,

Steve

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Steve,

The null object parenting sounds very interesting.

Time remapping seems like it would simplify the process of getting the chords to appear at the right time. But wouldn't it cause the chord shapes to speed up and slow down instead of scrolling smoothly?

Votes

Translate

Translate