• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is there a way to automatic animate a layer scale when the position of another layer changes?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 07, 2023 Mar 07, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm animating this YouTube avatar/persona and I've set up a slider that contains all the individual images. I would also like to have a little bounce animation whenever the image changes to better transition between them.

In the video example I've manually animated the bounce animation by moving only the Y scale, but I'd like to know if there is an eaiser way to so with expressions. So everytimethe X position on the Slider changes, the Y scale on the Null object that all images are linked to would have a little bounce.

I'm a completely noob when it comes to coding so I haven't found a reliable way to do so even after searching the Community.

TOPICS
Expressions , How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 07, 2023 Mar 07, 2023

If the layer with the Y keyframes is named control and you did not separate dimensions (not often a good idea because the bezier handles go away and it's difficult to accurately define a curved path). this expression will give you a .2 second expand and .1 second contract on the Y scale value of another layer.

c = thisComp.layer("Control");
p = c.position;
kt = p.nearestKey(time).time;
if (time - kt > 0)
	t = time - kt;
else
	t = 0;

y = ease(t, 0, .2, 0, 50);
y2 = ease(t, .2, .3, 0, -50);

[v

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied