Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Loopout driven by rotation parameter.

Community Beginner ,
Oct 03, 2022 Oct 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there!

I'm trying to loop a wheel animation using time remap, but I can't achieve any result. Here the situation:

I've a rendered wheel loop (500 frames).

I've got animated null to drive the wheel rotation (It change speed during time). 

This is the expression that I tried to use, not work as I expected:

var backrotation=thisComp.layer("Rotation - BackWheel").transform.rotation
linear(backrotation,0,360,0,500)

I've two problem: first, the remap is not working (instead of 360°=500frame I obtain 14,4°=500frame).

I also want a sort of loopout, so when the null start the second rotation cycle the time remap has to restart from frame 0. 

I'm not really good at scripting, I hope someone can help me!

Thanks!

TOPICS
Expressions , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Oct 03, 2022 Oct 03, 2022

Hey there, you're really close! There are a handful of ways to do this, but using most of the expression you already have, you just need to change the last argument (parameter) in the linear() function. In expressions, After Effects measures time as whole seconds, so you're telling the Time Remapping parameter to go from 0 to 500 seconds. The easiest fix here is to add a new function called framesToTime() which will convert the number of frames inside the parenthesis to the proper amount of time

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND , Oct 03, 2022 Oct 03, 2022

In addition to David's suggestion you could even "reset" the animation natively without ever having to use loopOut() by using a modulus (%) instead:

linear(backrotation%360,0,360,0,endDuration)

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate