• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making one object 'swallow' another

Community Beginner ,
Apr 12, 2019 Apr 12, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Really hope someone can help me with this; I'm a bit of a novice and struggling to find the info I need in the manual.

As the title describes, I'm trying to make a short 6s animation of a large bacteria png swallowing a smaller bacteria. I'm familiar with auto-tracing masks and using the Distortion>Reshape effect to morph from one shape to another; initially I tried having 'source mask' unaltered and edited the 'destination mask' so it was pushed inwards, but it seems to distort the entire image rather than just at the portion where the smaller bacteria 'enters' the larger. Is there an easier / better way to achieve the effect I'm looking for? Any advice greatly appreciated!

*edited to add: I'm on 16.1.1.4, win10

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! It may be helpful if you post an example of what you're trying to accomplish. There's a lot of ways to do a task in AE.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you try the Liquify effects? you can manually draw the effects

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What manual?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you want to affect only portions of the image, you have to work with duplicates, pre-comps and masking. Nothing more to it.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate