Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pixelated psd image on zoom

New Here ,
May 14, 2022 May 14, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am new to AE and got a bit confused with PSD vs AE resolutions:

I am working with raster images that are scanned to photoshop (pencil drawings). I scann them as a 600 dpi PNG file.
Then, I import them to Photoshop to work on them. The PSD file is 300 ppi, and when I zoom in on my photoshop screen - all is sharp and crispy.
Then, I improt it to my AE composition, which is 1920x1080 as seen here in the attached image.

In my animation, I want to zoom in to an object. I am not interested in animting the zoom motion. Just to show a piece of it maginified in the following frame (think about stop-motion as a reference).
So I duplicate my layer and scale the new layer to the point that the object is magnified (200% in).
But I can't, it is all pixelated and blurry.
What I am I doing wrong?
These are pencil drawings that I create and scan, I have full controll on the image quality. Where am I losing resolution?
Thank you!

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

DPI doesn't matter for video, only absolute pixel count. That's all there is to say about the matter. If you zoom in 200 %, you need twice the number of pixels.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied