Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Screen Roll - Slow down animation?

New Here ,
Jun 27, 2018 Jun 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm relatively new to AE and have been trying to search for some advice or tutorials but as of yet I can't find anything. So far I have the animation as I want it, however looking back I feel like it's too quick and you don't have time to read the text using the preset "screen roll" under mechanical.

Does anyone know how I can slow down the animation overall, or at least have the text stop for a second or two once it reaches the middle?

My files are below, both working space and the first parts of the animation.

Shake - Google Drive

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you can't extend the time for the roll, you can't slow it down.

You're going from Point A (the start of the roll) to Point B (then end) in a certain time.  It's basic arithmetic: Speed = Distance / Time.

Now, what you CAN do is shorten the distance if you can't change the time.  Tighten up the distance between the lines of text in the roll.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm using AE's preset effect for the scroll so it's not an easy edit like I would do with position and keyframing as it uses Adobe's own default settings.

I couldn't find where to adjust the effect to slow it down when the text reached the centre then speed back up again to the bottom of the composition. I think I've managed to do it using the slider and keyframes, but it's still not perfect (and I'm far from knowing what I'm fully doing - just playing around)