Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Stabilizing drone footage with unwanted rotational "skip"

New Here ,
Jun 03, 2019 Jun 03, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I'm new to AE and working on learning the tools. There's a lot of really awesome and powerful tools to use but one I'm struggling to wrap my head around is stabilizing footage.

I flew a drone over a landscape and flew both forward and descended over some livestock that was running into the distance. At one or two moments, due to high winds, the drone rotated around its center axis causing a blip of motion in an otherwise amazing and cinematic landscape.

Because there's only a horizon with no great points to focus trackers on, and because the horizon goes from vast to smaller, I'm having a heck of a time stabilizing out those few blips. In fact my first attempt (Stabilize Motion, selecting position and rotation only on the X axis) made my the footage have more of that rotation.

Any tips on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Warp stabilizing probably won't work. When faced with a problem like the one that you are describing I usually cut the clip up into sections, motion stabilize the needed sections so there is no movement on certain parts of the video, then attach the motion stabilized sections to a null and animate the position of the null over time to smooth out the jitters making sure that the last frames in the motion stabilized section matches the first frame in the next part of the shot.

That is probably a lot for a newbie to process, but it should give you something to think about.