• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using metadata and embedded timecode in AE

New Here ,
Oct 22, 2018 Oct 22, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm very new to the creative cloud and am trying to prepare for a long term video project that involves recording practice (and hopefully progress) learning an instrument over time.

I'm using a combination of DSLR cameras and a time code generator called TentacleSync along with a timecode generating field recorder to sync 2-3 video feeds with recorded audio. 

I'm planning on using Prelude to ingest the files to make sure I have the metadata (including date of recording) properly stored with the files.

The plan was, for each project I'm practicing, to compile together something between a timelapse and a montage of quick edits of progression over time starting with mistakes and ending on a playable piece.

Here's the part I'm struggling with:

To display the transition of time, I wanted to create an AR composition over all of the edits that would display a lower third showing the channel's logo, the video title, and the date and proper passage of time based on the date of the video and embedded timecode (just for displaying as a clock, framecount isn't needed). I wanted all of this to be in a consistent format (i.e. using the font and design I've set up for the video vs the generic format of the old timecode effect).

For this to be remotely feasible, I need a way to make AE aware of the metadata (file date) and timecode (time offset) and produce some sort of expression that would use this to generate the display.  (My knowledge of AE expressions is that they exist.)

I've been googling for days, and I keep finding examples that show how to simulate a time clock, but nothing that would actually use the actual time in the files as part of the process.