• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

H.264 render of 24fps reverts to 30fps in output

New Here ,
Jun 09, 2020 Jun 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm new to After Effects and pretty new to video editing overall. I've run into a strange problem that I cannot solve or find answers to.

I created a blank 1920x1080 24 fps composition, 30 seconds long. I imported a single png image (no footage) and used two start/end keyframes to have it pan across the screen. Very basic, simple composition.

I exported to Media Encoder, used H.264 and rendered as mp4. Match Source, high bitrate. I verified that the frame rate is set to 24 fps. I even did this twice, once with "Match Source" and once with unchecking that box and manually setting the 24 fps.

Result: I get a clip that is 30 seconds long as it should be, but all the frames from After Effects are finished after 24 seconds and it's just black after that. Also, the file's metadata shows 30 fps. So, it seems that the 720 frames get interpreted as 30 frames per second instead of 24, which ruins the timing. If I change the composition and export to 30 fps then the frame timing is correct. Why is the export "stuck" at 30 fps interpretation regardless of my setting configuration? This error does not occur in .mov or .avi formats, which I checked.

Obviously I can use the other formats to work around this problem, so I'm not in a jam, but this startling failure with such a basic function led me to question whether I've grossly overlooked something important.

Note: I'm in Windows 10, AE 17.1.0.

TOPICS
Error or problem , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Aug 04, 2020 Aug 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied