• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After Effects save location and ExtendScript

Community Beginner ,
Feb 12, 2014 Feb 12, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am pretty new to After Effects scripting and I'm fairly new to the programming world (1+ years experience).

My question has multiple possible answers I guess, I'm looking for a way to have After Effects save its .aep file into a very specific predetermined location.  The reason I need this is because I'm currently in the process of writing scripts and tools to integrate After Effects and the rest of the Adobe products into our pipeline, so here's the general idea below:

The supervisor sets up a project / sequence / shot folder structure using tools built into the pipeline

The supervisor marks specific shots that will be done in After Effects (or perhaps an entire sequence or project)

The artist now comes in to work on their shot, they set their environment in the pipeline and the pipeline launches After Effects

The pipeline:

• Creates AE file with a specific name and save location (maybe creates and automatically saves the file into the save location for the first time? Or perhaps it just opens a new folder and tells AE where to put it)
  • Creates compositions in the AE file that correspond directly to the shots being worked on
  • Imports footage / sequences (etc...), that the artist is subscribed to
  • Builds the render queue with the compositions it created
  • Sets the render locations for all of the compositions

The artist now gets to work doing their magic

The artist hits save (cmd+s, ctrl+s, etc...), After Effects saves the project file into the predetermined location under the predetermined name.

The above will only occur on the first time the artist goes to work on the shot.