• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I apply the position expressions in after effects?

New Here ,
Jun 02, 2021 Jun 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new in this expressions and scripting. I want a circular shape layer to move in a projectile path following actual physics formula. 

Ozone5C80_0-1622637760715.png

TOPICS
Dynamic link , Expressions , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 02, 2021 Jun 02, 2021

Just using the basic projectile formula, you could do something like this:

g = -55000;
angle = -45;
v0 = 10000;

a = degreesToRadians(angle);
vx = v0*Math.cos(a)*time;
vy = v0*Math.sin(a)*time - g*time*time/2;
value + [vx,vy]

Adjust gravity (g), initial velocity (v0), and launch angle (angle) to get the result you want.

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

for your convinence:
I have considered my screen to be around 30 cm. I am thinking of beginningo f width of my screen to be the starting point and end of screen to be range of projectile. So I have calculated the velocity and time need  to reach at that distance at an angle of 45 degrees. 
velocity=1.71 ms/s
And as time will be required for the duration of animation,
TIme to reach taht point in that velocity T = 0.246 seconds.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My Throw 2d iExpression implements such a formula: