• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create smoke using After Effects?

New Here ,
Nov 26, 2019 Nov 26, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an after effects beginner and I am trying to animate smoke rising from a smoke stack like this.  I assumed this incorportates the wiggle effect and I'm not sure what else.  If someone knows how to acheive this effect like the smoke in the image, please let me know! It would be much appreciated.Smoke Effect.PNG

Title edited by Mod

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 26, 2019 Nov 26, 2019

How much control do you need over these? Do they basically just need to rise and have a little wobble to them?
We can use some of the cooler features of shape layers to do this totally procedurally, which should make it easy to dial in the look.

1. With no layers selected, use the ellipse tool to draw an oval. You'll probably want it high-ish in your comp.

2. Twirl open your shape layer so you can see everything.

3. To the right is a little flyout menu that says Add - add a Repeater and then Wiggl

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 26, 2019 Nov 26, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How much control do you need over these? Do they basically just need to rise and have a little wobble to them?
We can use some of the cooler features of shape layers to do this totally procedurally, which should make it easy to dial in the look.

1. With no layers selected, use the ellipse tool to draw an oval. You'll probably want it high-ish in your comp.

2. Twirl open your shape layer so you can see everything.