Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I cannot play a sequence of raw files in AE

New Here ,
May 30, 2019 May 30, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

Full disclosure I am an absolute noob to AE.  I've been creating timelapses for several years using Lightroom, LRTimelapse and Premiere Pro but I want to change my workflow around and use AE to render the raw sequences themselves.  I've already watched several tutorials on how to import the sequence - and it seems very easy and everyone seems to say the same thing, which is...

Import file > select the first raw file of the sequence of images in the folder (for reference these are .NEF files shot from a D750) and make sure "Camera Raw Sequence" is clicked > Click "OK" on the raw editor because I've already edited all the images in Lightroom/LRTimelapse > change composition settings to 4096 x 2304 > drag the .NEF file in the project window down to the create composition button.

From here, if I try to hit play, or space bar either nothing happens or I get the "After Effects error: Cached Preview needs 2 or more frames to playback".

I searched for this error online and was led to a number of solutions to free up memory, etc in order to improve performance.  I've done them with no luck.  As far as my machine is concerned it's nothing crazy fast, but I have 16GB of RAM and a half decent video card.  I would find it hard to believe that I would be at a dead stop.  It seems like the more likely situation is that AE is literally trying to play a sequence with just 1 image, which makes sense to me - but I've followed each of these tutorials exactly as they're laid out, so I don't know what else to do.

I'm dead in the water here - so hoping this is just a simple and stupid thing that I don't know as I'm a noob.

Thanks in advance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more