Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Link an After Effect Expression to Audio Frequency

New Here ,
Jun 10, 2018 Jun 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to After Effects and I am in no way in this realm at all. I'm a music producer and I upload my songs to YouTube using an Audio Spectrum video that I create (thx to online tutos) with After Effects.

Very simple, I basically link the Audio Spectrum effect to the frequency of the actual track (which makes a nice little visual when the song hits below 130 Hz in frequency). I'm gonna skip the part before my issue (not really an issue, maybe more a question) and go straight to the point:

After my Audio Spectrum effect is linked to my Audio file and that everything looks nice, there is this part where I use the Magnify effect to basically link the Magnification preset to the "Both Channels" slider (I believe) after I render my audio file to keyframes...

This result makes basically my Composition (where I have my Logo and the Audio Spectrum visual) bigger.

Now, the thing that I don't like is that the visual is magnifying most when the track "goes hard" (which is a good thing) and still is kinda magnifying during the calmer parts of the song (where I don't want any magnification)...

My question is: Can I link the magnification process (expression) to a certain frequency band (like make it "work" only when there's a frequency hitting below 30 Hz)?

The expression I use to link the Magnification process to the audio is the following:

value + (comp("Music").layer("Audio Amplitude").effect("Both Channels")("Slider")) / 5

I hope I was clear in the explanation.

Thank you for your help!! =D

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jun 10, 2018 Jun 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied