• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Masking

Community Beginner ,
Jan 05, 2020 Jan 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all, to keep it simple I have a question since I am pretty new to after effects I am still figuring out most of the tools and effects in the program. One of which is the pen/mask tool, in most of the videos I've seen on after effects when someone uses the pen tool and masks something on their composition the outline is the only thing there while the rest of the comp stays the same. Yet effects can still be applied to the masked element. For me it just blacks out the background of what is outside of my mask, can someone explain to me how I can change that?

Before anyone asks I do have render checked on my footage layer

mask.jpg

TOPICS
FAQ , How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advisor , Jan 06, 2020 Jan 06, 2020

Given your description it's difficult to know exactly what procedure you're referring to here - but my guess is that you might be talking about effect compositing options.

Normally when you apply a mask to a layer, you will mask - that is, 'cut out' - the layer. In that case, assuming there are no other visible layers below, you'll see the background composition colour: typically black, as in your case.

However, there is another option when using masks...
In your screen shot, looking at the tim

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,
Jan 05, 2020 Jan 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. Make a new Adjustment Layer above the layer you want to be affected, add the effects to the adjustment layer. This will affect all the layers underneath if there are more than one..

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines