Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Modern Video formats for High Quality RGB+A Transparent Assets

Explorer ,
Sep 26, 2019 Sep 26, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey community,

I'm a self-taught motion graphics guy who has always used JPG2000 to render high-quality 4-channel (RGBA) videos for re-use as assets within other AE/Premiere projects (not for final file delivery.)

With JPG2000 having gone extinct, I'm looking for a new solution.

I started using ProRes 444, and I love the quality for delivery. But, baking out clips (keyed footage, for example) seems to seriously bloat the render time once I have a few ProRes files on the timeline. I added 12 baked videos to a project and added 48 gigs to my project.

Is there another file format that has alpha, good performance, AND manageable filesize?

There must be an industry standard for this. I just wish I knew it.

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Sep 26, 2019 Sep 26, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

During my work I used and I'm using severa different formats and now to be honnest most of the tie i'm using file sequences (for better multiprocessing usage during render) but I also use - with successes - GoPro Cineform and Avid DNxHD - both free. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Sep 27, 2019 Sep 27, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Awesome. When you say "file sequences" you mean like a PNG or TIFF stack?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied