• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Open multiple projects at once?

Explorer ,
Jan 04, 2020 Jan 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I know this is a dumb question, but I am new to AE and can't figure it out. How do I open a project file without it closing the project that is currently open? Basically, I want to open a .aep file and have it show up as a new "tab" next to the composition that is currently open. 

Thanks!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advisor , Jan 04, 2020 Jan 04, 2020

You can only have one project open at a time in After Effects.

The way you've phrased your question suggests that you may not be clear on the difference between an AE project file (project.aep) and a composition. It's the Composition(s) that you see as tabs in the timeline. One project may have one, or multiple compositions in it. If you're uncertain about this I'd strongly suggest you review a few basic tutorials at: https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/tutorials.html

However, you can import

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advisor ,
Jan 04, 2020 Jan 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can only have one project open at a time in After Effects.

The way you've phrased your question suggests that you may not be clear on the difference between an AE project file (project.aep) and a composition. It's the Composition(s) that you see as tabs in the timeline. One project may have one, or multiple compositions in it. If you're uncertain about this I'd strongly suggest you review a few basic tutorials at: https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/tutorials.html