Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shadow catcher without applying shadows on object

Community Beginner ,
Feb 10, 2022 Feb 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm pretty new to After Effects, so forgive me if the question is obvious.

I was experimenting with shadows. I followed instructions similar to here, which basically entailed creating a 3d solid layer beneath my object, setting the solid to accept shadows "only" and setting my object to 3d and having it cast shadows. I also set up a light source.

The shadows show fine, but in my case I don't want the shadow to show on the object itself, only on the ground. There doesn't appear to be a setting for this - I tried turning off "accept shadows" on the object itself, but it doesn't make a difference. Intuitively, I would expect shadows to only show on the layers BELOW the solid layer that's accepting shadows, but it doesn't seem to work that way.

Is there any way to make an object cast shadow only on the ground, and be unaffected in its own lighting?

Thanks!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Feb 11, 2022 Feb 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As per the tutorial, there are no "shadows" on the objects. They are not even close enough to cast shadows at each other. The rest is just normal shading, which boils down to tweaking the material properties of the layer, not the light options. Typically one would simply dial down the specular and crank up the diffuse to full to make things look flat. Adding an extra ambient or parallel light to boost base illumination also helps.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,