• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Slow audio playback in After Effects preview, can anyone help?

Community Beginner ,
Nov 07, 2018 Nov 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am a relative After Effects novice only needing to touch it on  perhaps one or two occasions a year. I've previously produced videos and been able to edit and sync sound very easily in After Effects, that was probably a year ago, I've probably updated the app a few times since and now when I import a .wav file the preview of the sound is extremely slow and I'm unable to sync with the video? The video, however, plays perfectly at the correct pace.

I've googled this quite a bit and tried all the advice that I've found i.e - amending the frame rate, restarting my Mac, assigning more RAM, previewing at the lowest resolution, fast draft previews etc etc but none of this has had any effect.

Any ideas would be most grateful as After Effects is unusable for me at the moment.

Many thanks in advnace

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I assume that the WAV plays back correctly in a media player software (VLC or something like this)?!

Is the WAV longer then is should be after you imported it into AE?

What version of MacOS and AE do you have? Also computer specs, please.

*Martin

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

thanks for getting back to me,

yes the file sounds fine in quicktime, the WAV isn’t longer than it should be no.