Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trouble with If statements with AE expressions

Community Beginner ,
May 04, 2024 May 04, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm very new to After Effects and am trying to make a scoreboard that runs off a .csv file. I want to move a cursor from an inital start position to the current score position and then, when the scores are updated, have it more to the new cursor position. I've attached an animation of the basic concept of what I've trying to do. Apologies for the ugly cloud overlay, they have been removed already.

The problem i'm having is constructing the if statements to direct the positon transform to the 3 locations. If I write a statement like so:

if(time > 5){
[currentCoordinates,708.5]
}

It will be nullified by adding the following:

if(time > 8){
[newCoordinates,708.5]
}

The result is the cursor only moves on the last if statement in the sequence.

Maybe i'm approaching this all wrong but any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Many thanks ATB

Concept video:

TOPICS
Expressions

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You may want to look into JavaScript basics. This isn't even AE specific. You need to define the conditions mathematically exact or use nested conditional statements so the engine actually looks at the second statement in the inner branch. It's also good practice to always have a fallback if none of the conditions are met.

if(time > 5 && time < 8){
[currentCoordinates,708.5]
}
else if(time > 8){
[newCoordinates,708.5]
}
else{
[0,0]
}

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
May 05, 2024 May 05, 2024