• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using keyframes from an existing tracker to add to null object and subsequent camera

Explorer ,
Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm fairly new to using After Effects and have a very shaky video I want to stabilise. Warp STabilizer hasn't done the trick so I've worked through a Track Motion tutorial which has been working...but I've come to a road block - 

When I try to Track Motion and apply it to Null Layer 4, then parent the camera to Null Layer 4 the footage is distorted and blurry.

The tracking info I want to use is Track Point 1 from Tracker 1 - layer 'WIN_20210216_10_37_56_Pro.mp4'.
I'm trying to add this to Null 4, but when I change the Camera 1 parent layer to Null 4 the footage goes blurry.

(Null 2 was just the initial experiment to see if I could work with this tool.)

I hope all of that makes sense and someone can point out what no doubt will be an obvious mistake. I'd really appreciate some help please.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Mar 16, 2021 Mar 16, 2021

I looked at the tutorial. I give it an F. The explanation is terrible, and the workflow is worse. I would never use that technique to try and stabilize the shot in the tutorial or any other shot. The likelihood of it working is about 2%. 

The first thing I did was duplicate your comp and name it analyzes. Then I turned off the visibility of all layers and started looking at keyframe values for the camera first, then the footage. You somehow ended up absolutely crazy values for position and sca

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer , Mar 16, 2021 Mar 16, 2021