Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Visual Studio 2013 unable to debug - The request is not supported

New Here ,
Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new in AE plugin development. I can build and run code from after effects (cc 2017), but when I try to debug like it says in the SDK Guide, VS says "Unable to start program  C:\Program Files\...\AfterFX.exe. The request is not supported.

I tried starting both programs as administrator, checked my settings and so on.

How can I connect VS to After Effects to debug?

Thank you.

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

Hi Maj,

In the SDK Guide, it says to set the Debugging > Command to the full path to After Effects.  How are you starting the debug?  If you choose Debug from the menu, it will start debugging using the StartUp Project.  If the Debugging > Command hasn't been set for that project, you'll get a similar error "Unable to start program...", referring to the default StartUp Project, which is artie.aex.  So if that's what you're doing, you'll need to right-click the project you want to debug, and set t

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,
Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Maj,

In the SDK Guide, it says to set the Debugging > Command to the full path to After Effects.  How are you starting the debug?  If you choose Debug from the menu, it will start debugging using the StartUp Project.  If the Debugging > Command hasn't been set for that project, you'll get a similar error "Unable to start program...", referring to the default StartUp Project, which is artie.aex.  So if that's what you're doing, you'll need to right-click the project you want to debug, and set that as the StartUp Project.