• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Drawing a 3-D line plot / path using x,y,z coordinates read-in from a csv file

Community Beginner ,
Apr 09, 2020 Apr 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all, I hope someone can please give a neat answer to this thing I think should be trivial.

Firstly I'm a planetary scientist who animates for educational purposes on the side, so I'm coming from a kinda plotting/coding/data analysis background. The task below I thought would be super easy to do, but after asking two AE pros, checking maybe 50 pages of different websites, I've still no idea how to do it. (This is the first forum post I've made since 2006 or so, I really tried!)

1. I'm reading .csv with x,y,z coordinates for an object. In this case, the orbit of a satellite around a planet 
2. I can make the satelitte move in x,y,z... no problem
3. BUT... is it possible to use that same data (from 2.) to plot a line in 3d space to represent its orbit? The line ideally would also be 3d itself, or at least just stay the same thickness when panning around it with a camera.

I have a hacky way to do it with an add-on -- particular -- to generate particles along the path. I only did that on their 2-week trial though, and would like to do it with AE's own functions. 

Cheers! James

TOPICS
Expressions , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Apr 10, 2020 Apr 10, 2020

Hi James,