Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Turning a countdown clock into a .MOGRT

Explorer ,
Apr 01, 2020 Apr 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've successfully made a countdown timer using various slider controls and source text.

Screenshot 2020-04-01 16.34.58.png

I am now trying to create a mogrt file that can adjust the time variable placed on the input so that I can re-use the template for different amounts of seconds. 

Does anyone have any insight on the expressions or controls needed to achieve this? I'm new to this and am running into a wall! 

Thanks! 

TOPICS
Expressions

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Apr 10, 2020 Apr 10, 2020

Ah. Sorry, I forgot about that.

Paste this Expression into Trim Path's End prop -

s=thisComp.layer("1").effect("Slider Control")(1);
linear(s,s.valueAtTime(inPoint),s.valueAtTime(outPoint),0,100)

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you want to adjust the start value in a MOGRT, you'll want to animate with expressions (linear, ease, etc), not keyframes, and set the start value with your slider. A setup like this will work:

res = linear(time, 0, 1, effect("Slider Control")("Slider"), 0);
Math.floor(res);

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Apr 10, 2020 Apr 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I understand animating with expressions and not keyframes but I'm having a little trouble following since the trim path is tied to the count-down number.  I tried putting your source txt in and it resulted in an error..