• EspaƱol
      • FranƧais
      • PortuguĆŖs
  • ę—„ęœ¬čŖžć‚³ćƒŸćƒ„ćƒ‹ćƒ†ć‚£
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • ķ•œźµ­ ģ»¤ė®¤ė‹ˆķ‹°
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Did my Premiere project become corrupt? Any way to fix it?

Contributor ,
Jul 16, 2021 Jul 16, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a Premiere newbie and I've been working all day on a project, but now the interface has gotten weird. The problem appears to be the timeline: it's become unresponsive to edits unless I view it full screen (via the tilde key), however if I do that, when I return to the main workspace the timeline freezes again and tool panels disappear. If I restore the workspace, everything is fine, but the timeline is frozen again. Eventually Premiere simply crashes--disappears, with no error message or anything. 

Per my usual work flow, I've been incrementally saving my files, however, I have to go back to file versions I saved several hours earlier to find one that isn't messed up. I'm assuming my project became corrupt, so is there a way to fix it? Thanks.

TOPICS
Crash , Error or problem , Freeze or hang

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Contributor , Jul 16, 2021 Jul 16, 2021

Thanks for the tip, MyerPj. I've still got a lot to learn about PP's workspace, and PP in general. That said, my project definitely became corrupt somewhere along the way. Luckily, it won't be too difficult for me to reconstruct from an earlier backup. I'm looking forward to when I can tell normal from abnormal behavior.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Forgot to include my specs:

Adobe Premiere Pro v15.2

Windows 10 Home v2004 OS build 19043.1110 v21H1

Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.30 GHz (no overclock)