Get help and share feedback in our global community.
Recently active
Switch the internal color management for OCIO.At the very least let us choose the CM engine.The old one is fine, not sure why people ***** about it so much, they should learn to use it first I guess.I find it more powerful than the one in Nuke. It worked for me just fine all these years, apart from the instances when all color profiles disappeared after an update 😉That said, currently ACES workflow is impossible to achieve.The ACES icc profiles provided are wrong, you can't get proper colors from ACES clips.Maybe it's a limitation of the ICC format since there is a strong gamma transform in this workflow and I think this is where the Adobe ACES profiles fail.We could pester you for better ACES profiles, but then we'd have to do that with every ACES revision.So why not just implement OpenColorIO like everyone else.I know we have the OCIO plugin but that is not the same.When I work with AE color management, it works in the background, I hardly have to do anything, the ocio plugin
Currently there is an unexpected behavior with how AE alphabetizes items in the project window. The addition of a character after numbers changes the order in a way that makes organization and renaming a challenge and sometimes a complete pain.Example:04-0102Above the dash will bring the 04- to the top. I'm told this is because numbers at the end are counted as numerals, but as soon as you add a non-number character after a number that number because a regular character. This seems to mean context plays a part in a character's value.I would like to see all characters assigned an alphanumeric value that doesn't change based on context.
Currently the workaround for this would be to use a shape layer as a matte, but having two layers worth of stuff for what COULD be just one setting within the layer i want to manipulate would be neat. Obviously if I'm missing something super obvious just let me know.
Can Adobe please make After Effect functions that are in Illustrator work the same? There is no possible way of aligning vertex in After Effects. When points are selected on a shape, one can not align them, yet in Adobe Illustrator, you can do this. Also can "Distribute Spacing" that is in Illustrator be added to After Effects? Why are the same functions not added to the same family of products? It's rather disappointing, when "new" things that are useless are added but simple old things are never added?
It would be great that the EXtractoR can also be used on compositions. For exmaple when you have multiple sequences with the same EXR layers. That would make compositing in some situations much faster.
Why? Only first frame of a glb file shows up, when i import some cool animated stuff? That´s a bi show stopper so far.
The properties panel is good for some of the elements within AE. Shapes and Text benefit from the latest changes but sadly things like the Camera and Light options are still stuck exclusively in the twirldown menu in the timeline. Would be great to see all properties of every object represented on the Properties Panel in the next update.
Currently, the process of renaming layers in Adobe's apps is inconsistent and misleading for new users.It provides a frustrating experience when working in several apps simultaneously. To rename a layer, users need to perform different actions in Photoshop, Illustrator, and After Effects: Double ClickReturn keyAfter Effects–OKPhotoshopOK–IllustratorOK– Please, fix it, and make it consistent.
Currently, there is an issue with the interface when scrolling through panels. The values in the fields may change when the pointer hovers over them while scrolling, which can be very annoying. Steps to reproduce:Hover the pointer over a long panel with a scrollbar.Start scrolling (up or down).When the pointer happens to hover over a field with a certain value, it may change that value instead of scrolling the panel. Please implement a feature to disable this annoying behavior. Add an option (checkbox) to the preferences to turn it off:☑ Scroll through field values using the scroll wheel. Demostration of the issue:
This involves Bridge as well.Right now in Ae/Br there's a lot of weird outdated and impractical text animations presets. Just check out the folders like:Adobe After Effects 2024\Support Files\Presets\Text\Graphical\orAdobe After Effects 2024\Support Files\Presets\Text\Graphical\2023 is almost over. Ae 2024 is here already. And yet these presets look like it's still 1999 🙂Could we please get a new set of text animation presets with the next Ae major update? Just Animate IN and OUT presets will do.Surely more users would appreciate it than those 3d features. In the end what's the ratio of projects utilizing imported 3d objects to projects utilizing animated text?Thanks!
When Importing a PP sequence into After Effects, currently all the media attached to the project has to import. This can take a lot of time and it can lead to media being imported twice if, for example, you want to import another sequence at another time. It would be smarter if you had the option to just import the nests/media present in the sequence you're importing. After Effects can do this afterwards by using the dependencies/ reduce project command.
I need a way to make comp markers from layer markers with their comments. I can make layer markers from nested comp markers with Update markers from Source, I can copy markers from one layer to another with the rd_CopyMarkers script, but i can not create markers or copy the comments from layer markers to comp markers in any automated way. For a VERY long time I have been trying to figure out how, but to the best of my knowledge there is no way to do this except manually. I can't find a script or addon that does this and have been try to automate this process with my own scripts, but it does not work. i don't think there is even a scripting way to do this. no matter how i approach it, i can't figure it out. can this please be implemented?
Hi,I Don't know what other user think... but for the first time, I finally understood how migrate plugins and script from an older to the newest version installed.Because I must say that when you launch for the first time the newest version of after-effects, the pop-uyp that is asking you what do you want to do with the plugins and script is not enough clear. One of the button is blue and very attractive for your eye. But this is not the good button to migrate your script/plugin folders. The grey (oldest version of AE) is the good one.Maybe adobe should consider this as it's not clear.(Hope I'm Clear enough) 😉
I often have to keep words together in blocks of text, so frequently use Character Panel > No Break. It'd be handy if I could assign this to a keyboard shortcut so I could selected my words and just press the shortcut - currently that's not possible (it does not appear in the Keyboard Shortcuts panel). ...Or is this not possible because AE would see the shortcut-key-press as me entering text into my comp rather than a command?
When the matte is frozen, it would still be nice to be able invert it from within the effect settings.Right now, Invert is grayed out when frozen.
it would be great if there's a UI Toggle Button forsynchronize Time of All Related Itemsinstead of going to the preference menu and enabling/disabling this option
Keyboard Shortcuts should not live in the Edit menu, since it does not affect the Comp or Selection. It belongs in Preferences, because Keyboard Shortcuts are settings.
When starting Mocha for Ae when the Comp viewer is not showing Full resolution, Ae comes up with a warning. How convenient would it be when the pop-up contains a button to switch resolution! Please add a third button to the warning: 'Switch to Full resolution'
Currently in order to set a specific value for a guide one needs to perform absolutly different actions in Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, and After Effects. In Photoshop you need to click "View → Guides → New Guide…" and then enter a specific value for a guide : In Illustrator you need to create a guide, select it and adjust its position in the Properties panel under the Transform section: In Premiere Pro and After Effects, you need to right-click on a guide, then select "Edit Position…" in After Effects or "Edit Guide…" in Premiere Pro. After that, you can edit the value inside the window (even these windows look different in Premiere Pro and After Effects): Premiere Pro: After Effects: Due to the inconsistency among the apps within Adobe's Suite, it's challenging for new users to learn how to use it. The same result is achieved differently in each app for some reason. Please make it consistent to decrease the steep learning curve that is pres
It seems insane that EVERYTHING you want to do in After Effects relies on the order in the layer stack. It makes sense sometimes, but things like Adjustment Layers where it affects EVERYTHING underneath it is so annoying. You can't even exclude layers from being affected by the Adjustment Layer, which leads to needlessly complicated timelines - and the fact that there's no timeline folder ability (like they have in Illustrator, Photoshop and literally every other compositing software) just makes using AE a drag sometimes. I know I'm wasting my time requesting a feature from Adobe seeing as they seem to despise AE users, but I thought I'd at least try. I look forward to the software not changing for the next 15 years.
Why using Open Project menu command or using shortcut CTRL/CMD+O closes project? It should be closed when I choose to open another project from file browser.
Would be cool if Preview playback didn't render guide layers...
Hi there! The feature has been recently made available for expressions, but it is missing from ExtendScript.We do a lot of rich text, and we would love to be able to query and manipulate text via script. Thanks!
At present, to exit the expression editor using a keyboard, you need to press the "Numpad Enter" key or "fn + Enter" keyboard shortcut (on a Mac). The issue here is that not all keyboards are equipped with either the "Numpad Enter" or the "fn" key. Many keyboards lack both. Therefore, it would be practical to assign the "⌘+Enter" (or "control + enter") keyboard shortcut to exit the expression textbox. This adjustment would allow users to exit the expression textbox using any type of keyboard.
Mogrts are great in many ways, but still limited in others. Providing overlays for an end user - for social safe zones, for example, or as additional instructions for proper template use or timing - can be very helpful, but requires an additional control they'd need to disable before exporting. Might it be possible to enable Guide Layers to pass through to Premiere, such that they'd be visible to the Premiere user, but would NOT appear in exports?
Remix with Firefly Community Gallery
Thousands of free creations to fall in love with and remix in Firefly.
Already have an account? Login
Enter your E-mail address. We'll send you an e-mail with instructions to reset your password.