Design the future of fashion, win Firefly Pro 👗✨
The official community for FrameMaker.
Recently active
Dear all, I tried to check for an existing text selection: var oDoc = app.ActiveDoc; var oTSel = oDoc.TextSelection; if (oTSel.ObjectValid()) { $.writeln ("we got it"); } But this creates an error during parsing. I need to dive deeper into the object: var oDoc = app.ActiveDoc; var oTSel = oDoc.TextSelection; if (oTSel.beg.obj.ObjectValid()) { $.writeln ("we got it"); } This works - but I do not understand, why the text selection itself - which is indicated to be an object - does not allow a direct check.
Hi there I have purchased 2 seperate plans for 2 of my users.When logging into the Adobe website etc it shows clearly that I am paying for these plans and the next billing date is at the end of the month. Unfortuantely when I open up Framemaker it asks my to purchase it again.I click buy now and it tells me I already have a plan setup for this.The issue now is that it just closes down and is unusable. I have the same issue for 2 users (using different Adobe logins of course) Has anyone else experianced this? Thanks very much
Cannot install FM2019 on my new PC with Windows 11. Is there a fix, or I have to upgrade to FM2020?
Say, I notice the first page of the intro chapter doesn't contain the header. Pls remind me how to make the header (and footer) appear on the first page - really, it needs to appear on all pages.Cheers -- John
Bookmark action View>Page Navigation>Previous View is not working in Chrome or Edge browsers. Is there a way to correct so this function works when viewing in the browswers?
Hi, I do almost everything with keyboard shortcuts. When I have a book open and a file of the book and close this file, then the Welcome Screen is selected and not the book. Is there a keyboard shortcut to select the book? I could not find anything in the online help or in other forum posts. Best regards Winfried
"Fit to Frame Proportionally" is a very nice feature in FrameMaker which allows the user to have an image in an anchored frame fit to the frame proportionally.This feature is a one way road however. If you use it and the stretch the image and again the use "Fit to Frame Proportionally" FrameMaker does not remember the original dimensions of the image. It would be optimal if "Fit to Frame Proportionally" was a property assigned to the image remembering and reading the proportions of the original image. If this was the case, working with Object Styles in templates would be VERY much improved and reliable. So please vote for this improvement on the Tracker here! https://tracker.adobe.com/#/view/FRMAKER-7848regardsBjørn
Hi all. I'm using Framemaker 2019 and I need to change all of the headers in every chapter of a book. Is there an easy way to do that all at once? Thx. -- John
I have some documents with a page size of 950 x 750 mm, but they can't print. I am able to get a pdf but with no content and a different size. I have set up a custom ps page size and tried other printer drivers beside PDF as well but with no luck. It does not seem to be the content on the page, because I have tried deleting all content. It does seem that the page size is the culprit.
Hi, I have a framemaker file which shows weird characters in the Title page. However the PDF looks fine.In the same file the headers and footers look fine in the Framemaker file, but displays gibberish characters in PDF... Any idea why this would happen?
Hi,Please suggest me on how to develop the script to delete unused master pages from all files in a book.Thanks...
Using FM2015 Publish to HTML5 Responsive: I'm trying to create output that represents programming code, so the characters and spaces should be fixed-width. Any suggestions on how best to do this?I created a simple test FM doc that contains some fixed pitch text which is supposed to be programming code. Eg:I created a paragraph format named "SourceCode" and applied it to the programming text. It uses a monospace font "Consolas" and tab stop every .5 inch. Note the tab stops used in the source code for indentation.In the publish-settings, I mapped the "SourceCode" para format to the HTML "PRE" tag.When I publish to HTML, the indentation is messed up:This is what the HTML markup looks like. I drew a box around the weird span that is generated to represent the tabs:Why is that span in there? Why does it use inline styling to override the font family and size? How are tabs supposed to be handled in the publishing output?Ideally it would just omit the extraneous span and just output some num
Hi, I inherited a set of Frame files that are output to PDF and Responsive HTML. There is an .sts file that I use when I publish, but I haven't really touched any of the other settings as I'm new to outputting to Responsive HTML. I was asked to add an index to the Help files. I poked around and saw that the default Indigo layout had a index. I wanted to see if my index would work with that default layout, so I made a copy of my book (the whole book directory) and set the Manage Layout field under Outputs to Indigo layout in the copy of the book. I was able to see my Index in the Indigo layout. I went back to my original book (not the copy) and opened up the Publish settings to figure out how to add the index to my setup, but the Indigo layout is there and I can't seem to figure out how to get back to what I had. Sadly, becasue I inherited the book, I don't know what the layout was set to. If I select New Layout and make a choice from the Gallery, I get a message that says all customiza
Searching with Wildcard ON for over*cell Finds OverflowCell, but not Overflow Cell IMHO this is a bug. Something like overflow7cells is found correctly, but overflow 7 cells is not found. It seems that "Any number of characters" must be interpreted as "Any number of alphabetic or numeric character". The very esotheric OverΠοκεμονcells is found... Tested in FM-15.0.8.979
I have a bookmap in which every chapter references a ditamap that has a title and one top-level topic with some nested topics inside of it.The problem however is that the title of the submap is also included when I save the bookmap as a pdf. I thought that dita titles of submaps were normally excluded from output but in FrameMaker this does not seem to be the case.Is there any way around this (without having to remove all the titles form my dita-files)?
The graphics are properly linked and displaying correctly in Framemaker (no gray boxes). This is the 15th version of this document and I haven't had issues with these graphics in previous versions. They were untouched in this version as well, but suddenly won't show in the output PDF this time. Other graphic file types (EPS, JPG, and PNG) are showing correctly in the output PDF. There are no errors in the Distiller log file. Using the "Save to PDF" option produces the same result. Re-importing the graphics also did not help.Ideally I will be able to find a solution that does not involve changing the file type of the PDF graphics, as doing so would have a huge downstream impact. Any suggestions? Thanks
I have the default left / right master pages and have created landscape-left and landscape-right. All use flow A. I have a caption "Figure 1" on the first left page. The second page uses landscape-right. When I add a caption to that page the autonumbering should create "Figure 2" but I get another "Figure 1."Suggestions?
Good Morning, I'm struggeling with the ranking of my TOC. I have created Paragraphs with 'Heading 1' and 'Heading 2' in a book. If I create the TOC, it sets automatically Heading 2 higher than Heading 1; e.g.: Heading 2....2 Heading 2....3 Heading 2....4 Heading 2....4Heading 1 ...........4 altough it should be: Heading 2....2 Heading 2....3Heading 1 ...........4 Heading 2....4 Heading 2....4 How can I set the priority of Heading 1 above Heading 2? Thanks in advance!
Does anyone know how to write vertically using text frame?
I would like to use File>Publish to print PDFs, but I am unclear where you can access the options similar to those available from File>Print. Specifically, I need to adjust Scale. Is this possible using the Publish feature?
Hi folks, we're facing a weird issue. One of our authors has set up FrameMaker, along with Sharepoint integration, and everything's working as expected so far. But when he uploads an image into a folder (right click on folder in FM, select "Upload document", select and upload image file), it isn't checked in automatically. It remains checked out for him, he has to do a manual check-in. And when he references the image into a document, then tries to save and check-in said document, the image isn't checked in alongside.On my end, I can then open the document, but get a grey image, until I check out the image manually, which fixes the issue. I can then check in the document again, and from that point, everything's working fine. For clarification, when I upload images like that, and reference them into a document, it's all working as intended, with no manual corrections needed. Is there any setting we're missing, that needs to be toggled on our colleague's PC? Thanks in
Hi, I'm having a problem with outputting a pdf with the correct registration marks and bleeds. In FM 2019, I can create a PDF with the correct marks and bleeds (refer to attached picture on the left), where as in FM 2020, the registration marks appear in a different spot (attached picture on the right). I'm using トンボ (tonbo, Japanese). In terms of the output method to create PDF's, I'm using the File -> Print -> Adobe PDF method. However, going through the "Publish" window and applying the correct settings to create a PDF produces the same result. Is there any way I can fix this? To try to fix the issue, I have used the identical settings in both versions of FrameMaker and Adobe Acrobat, however this does not solve the problem. Any help would be much appreciated.
Just noticed this while working on a document. If you use hard spaces in one of the tags recognized as a heading tag, the navigation pod will run the words together without spaces. Just reported this as a bug. https://tracker.adobe.com/#/view/FRMAKER-11608
Hallo CommunityBeim Erstellen vom Dita.xml zu FMBOOK wird die Vorlage nicht herangezogen. Wie kann ich den Fehler beheben oder was muss ich Einstellen?Danke für eure Hilfe. FMBook dita.xml
Hi,I am working on a client and in some parts of it, I want to create a new structured document using the structured application definition (I have DTD, EDD, read & write rules, and a template file.) Using the Adobe FDK Programmer's Reference I came up with the code below:F_PropValsT params = F_ApiGetNewXMLDefaultParams(); F_PropValsT *retParams = NULL; for (UIntT i = 0; i < params.len; i++) { params.val[i].propVal.u.sval = F_StrCopyString("S1000D_description_401"); } F_ApiNewXML(&params, &retParams); F_ApiDeallocatePropVals(&params); F_ApiDeallocatePropVals(retParams);My problem is that the code creates a new document but has problems creating the structure (I even checked this code with Frame Maker defined S1000D descriptive schema, as it is seen in the code, but I had no chance.) I get an error message saying "Data Module Structure is not correct for ToC generation", and it creates an empty document without any structure.Digging a little more into the FDK refere
Remix with Firefly Community Gallery
Thousands of free creations to fall in love with and remix in Firefly.
Already have an account? Login
Enter your E-mail address. We'll send you an e-mail with instructions to reset your password.