• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to commit changes to text with Escape

Community Beginner ,
Apr 21, 2022 Apr 21, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there a way to set "Commit changes to Text" using Escape as a keyboard shortcut? I tried mapping it in the keyboards shortcuts panel, but everytime I try and input ESC it just exits the window. 

I'm just getting into AE and have heavily used Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign for years where pressing ESC quickly exits the text box and retains any edits. I come to find that I input text in AE and not only does it not commit any changes, but completely deletes the text box all together! This inconsistency after years of muscle memory has caused quite a few headaches when using text in AE.

I've seen some scripting solutions for Windows users, but are there any solutions for those of us on a Mac?

TOPICS
How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Apr 11, 2023 Apr 11, 2023

Would love this feature as well. To future people who arrived here like I did from google: I am new to the support community and don't know if votes do anything, but the new link to upvote (as of 4.11.2023) is here:
https://community.adobe.com/t5/after-effects-ideas/esc-to-leave-text-editor-like-in-ai-ps-and-id/idi-p/13229536
or search for the discussion title
“ESC to leave text editor, like in Ai, Ps, and iD”

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Escape cancelling the text entry rather than deleting the text that was just entered would make a great feature request.  I'd vote for it.

https://adobe-video.uservoice.com/forums/911311-after-effects

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines